NH RSA 466:1 Procuring License; Tag. – Every owner or keeper of a dog 4 months old or over shall annually, cause it to be registered, numbered, described, and licensed for one year in the office of the clerk of the city or town in which the dog is kept, and shall cause it to wear around its neck a collar to which shall be attached a metal tag with the following information thereon: the name of the city or town, year of issue of license and its registered number. The tag and license shall be furnished by the clerk at the expense of the city or town. Regardless of when the license is obtained, the license shall be effective from May 1 of each year to April 30 of the subsequent year.
Why you should license your dog:
•A license provides an easy means for identifying you as its owner. If your dog is injured, his/her license may help others to notify you quickly, possibly saving your dog’s life. If an Animal Control Officer rescues your lost dog, the license may enable the Officer to return the dog directly to you, thereby saving both you and your dog a trip to the Animal Shelter.
•A Pelham, New Hampshire dog license also provides important proof of current rabies vaccination. Rabies exists in New Hampshire in certain wild animals as well as domestic animals that become infected through contact with them. Every year residents of Pelham are bitten by dogs, and some residents will be required to undergo rabies treatment because the dog was not wearing a license to indicate its vaccination status.
•It’s the law! New Hampshire RSA 466:1 requires annual licensing for all dogs over four months of age. The money collected from the sale of licenses helps to fund the Spay and Neuter Program available in New Hampshire, as well as fund rabies testing in the event of you, your child or your pet is bitten by a possible rabid animal.
How to license your dog:
To purchase your dog’s license please bring proof of current rabies vaccination and spay or neuter certificate (if applicable) to the Town Clerk located at 6 Village Green.
•The Town of Pelham, New Hampshire licensing fees are :
• $9.00 Male or Female (Not Spayed or Neutered)
• $6.50 Male or Female (Spayed or Neutered)
• $2.00 Owner over 65 years of Age
To keep us up to date on your pet's status please call 603-635-2040. We get notified of unregistered dogs, and most of them have moved on, so help us to keep up to date on the correct status of your pet.